Kelly’s Strawberry Fields Forever Scones

image  I love all things British…the accents, the actors (can you say Jax…Sons Of Anarchy? All that and he has an English accent? Yum) and the foods…Yorkshire Pudding…how are southern people not all over this? It’s baked in meat drippings…and then covered in gravy!! My other favorite…scones…Nothing better than a warm scone with a cup of coffee on a lazy weekend morning. I used to think that they were hard to make…nope super easy…EASY…just follow my tips and your family will think you are amazing, even if you walk around talking in a “British” accent for the rest of your weekend.

Ingredients

Strawberry Scones:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons sugar

5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cold or even frozen

1 cup fresh strawberries chunked (or blueberries, blackberries or raspberries…heck mix them if you want)

1 cup heavy cream, plus more for brushing the scones

Lemon Glaze:

Juice of one large lemon

2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted

1 tablespoon unsalted butter

1 lemon, zest finely grated

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Mix together the dry ingredients; the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar with a whisk or use your sifter if you have one (mine got put in the dishwasher by the boys and rusted so I just whisk it together)  Now an amazing trick…take your cold or even frozen butter and grate it into your flour…yep use a grater it makes it so easy to cut in the flour…Then just stick your hands in the bowl and start crumbling it together. The mixture should look like coarse crumbs. Now add your strawberries mix them in with your hands, making sure they are all coated with flour. Take care not to mash or bruise the strawberries or you will have pink scones. Make a well in the center and pour in the heavy cream. Fold everything together just to incorporate; do not overwork the dough. It’s not gonna be a ball, just a bunch of pieces…stop mixing.
Press the dough out on a lightly floured surface and press it into a circle, or a rectangle or a triangle…we don’t judge you can make whatever shape you want…just don’t overwork the dough…just use your hands and push it together…it should be about 1 1/2 inches thick. Cut the dough into triangles or squares…I make a circle and cut it into triangles/funky squares till you have eight pieces. Place the scones on an ungreased cookie sheet and brush the tops with a little heavy cream (don’t skip this part..it will make them moist).  Bake for 15 to 20 minutes until beautiful and brown. Let the scones cool for a minute or two before you apply the glaze.

Mix the lemon juice, zest, and sugar in a microwave-safe bowl, then add the butter. Now nuke the glaze for 30 seconds, stir it and nuke it again if butter isn’t melted. Whisk the glaze to smooth out any lumps, then drizzle the glaze over the top of the scones. Let it set a minute before serving.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kelly’s Strawberry Fields Forever Scones

  1. Robin Griggs says:

    I think the way you tell your story is awesome. I am not much of a reader but can’t wait for you to post the next day! I read it as it was the past two years of your life NOT your life today!! I get from it that it seems to be helping you heal! I say if you can do it ROCKON Sister!! I will keep reading.

  2. Some people are just “bawl bags” …and that’s okay but I know from the things I read over the past year, it helps to hear how real people got through it. It made me feel like I wasn’t alone and maybe I could make it out of the dark. If I sugar coat it it’s not the truth and for some reason “telling the truth” matters to me a LOT these days…I told a friend the other day it’s “The Blog Of Truth”. Crazy? Yep and I made my piece with being crazy too…

  3. Rebecca says:

    Thank you very much for your blog. My husband had an affair about one and a half years back, I am still raging with anger whenever I see a new picture of that whore somewhere in the internet. I was earning a great paycheck and independent and left all those for the last 12 years and took great pride in raising my kids. I was the best wife he can ever get (really… struggled to get his parents and siblings life up). Now after settling all their lives, he thinks all his duties over and starting his adventure. I don’t understand where I stood in his life at all. He has asked sorry very many times, I do want to let go. But my self respect is deeply hurt. Even after one and a half years, some days are just draggable. But some days I still feel like dying. Your blog just helps because you have written more about the struggle. Lot of women write about how they are bold, gotten a divorce, moved on and how that is the best thing they have done. Lots of women also write about you need to just forgive, pray, love him, be happy that he did not leave etc (these posts make me feel like a old old good for nothing woman). The reality is I want to be able to forgive, but it is very very difficult.

    • The path we are taking is hard. Trying to save your marriage after an affair isn’t an easy road, and for some reason it’s one that is usually kept under wraps. Women who leave often tell the reason why, but when they stay they often don’t talk about it.

      More women feel how we do, they just can’t share it.

      Hugs to you on your journey, I hope you find peace

Leave a Reply

