Grandma Della’s Pie Crust

My grandma made the perfect pie crust, I was 25 before I was smart enough and I finally stopped using the nasty Betty Crocker one and asked “How the heck do you make your crusts look and taste like that?” Now my grandma was an incredible cook and baker, I’m not sure to this day she didn’t have a magic wand, but the difference in her pie crust? Sugar, Egg and Vinegar….the sugar and the vinegar makes it taste so stinking yummy, but the egg makes it flaky and fool proof…meaning if you tear it or a hole appears, it is so pliable you can just pinch it back together. Another tip my grandma taught me? After you roll the crust out in a circle, fold it up…all the sides in toward the middle, then put it in your pie dish and unfold…makes moving the crust easy. My grandma also made the most amazing cranberry sauce, broccoli salad, and these jello salads that made you wonder…”What the heck did she put in here?”…I miss my grandma and her hugs which made you feel like a giant was squeezing you instead of a 4’10” little wisp of a woman, and you knew when she hugged you, that you were loved. No song title needed for her pie crust, it’s just Grandma Della’s and that is good enough for me.

Ingredients:

4 c. flour

1 tsp. salt

1 Tb. sugar

1 1/2 c. Crisco shortening

1 egg

1 Tb. vinegar

1/2 c. cold water

Directions:

Mix together the four, sugar and salt in a large bowl. Then add the Crisco to the flour mixture ( don’t be a cheap skate…use the real blue can..it’s better). Use a pastry cutter to “cut” the shortening in (if you don’t have a cutter you can use a fork, but trust me spend the money and buy a cutter). When the mixture resembles course crumbs ( like the size of peas) you have it ready to add the water mixture. Mix the water, egg and vinegar together then pour into the flour. Stir it together until combined and then divide into 3-4 balls. This will make enough for 3-4 single crust pies, or three and pie crust cookies (sprinkle leftover scraps with cinnamon and sugar and bake, my kids fight over them). You can freeze extra dough in a freezer bag, just put one ball per bag and smash it down to make a disk shape, then seal and freeze.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

