Victoria’s Favorite Biscuits

I was requested to share this recipe, and it was kind of hard to do. I like to be the best at something (anything, everything…I’m a tad bit competitive) and my niece thinks I make the best biscuits. I know someday the sweet girl who requested I post this will be my daughter-in-law though, and by being my daughter-in-law will control how often I see my son and my future grandkids. Knowing this, I don’t deny her much, but I kind of feel like The Wizard Of Oz and once I pull back the curtain and share some simple tricks I will go from being a “magic biscuit baker” to just Kelly. We live 15 minutes from the nearest grocery store, so by the time you get there…through the store…back home…and finally back in the kitchen and the damn tube of biscuits open and in the oven…It’s been an hour to hour and a half, and I like breakfast better than brunch…Plus I don’t go anywhere with my make-up on, so add another 15 minutes to the time crunch. Making homemade biscuits is quicker for me, and if you are like me? Easier than busting open the stupid can…am I the only one who ends up looking like a crazy woman beating it over and OVER on my counter? These are easy…EASY…and are so stinking good.

Preheat your oven to 500 degrees

Ingredients

2 cups flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 tablespoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
4 tablespoons unsalted butter (cold or frozen)
1 1/2 cup buttermilk (don’t you dare buy it…just add 1 1/2 Tb. of vinegar to your milk)

Combine your dry ingredients (I just throw them all in a bowl and whisk them together). Grab your Cheese Grater and grate the butter into the dry ingredients. Now stick your hands in there (please say you washed them…if not stop…repeat after me “I am ewwwy nasty”…and go wash them) and start crumbling the mixture together, till it resembles well…crumbs. Now make a well and add the buttermilk, mix till just combined. It’s gonna be wet and lumpy and you are gonna double check your flour measurement…Then you are gonna start to doubt me…In 20 minutes you are gonna apologize for doubting me. Now you can do this two different ways…easy and imperfect or OCD and let’s impress everyone. Easy way first…grab a 1/4 cup, spray the inside and out, then flour it. Now start scooping out the mixture and put it on a sprayed and floured cookie sheet, turn them over then and brush with melted butter. Now if you want the OCD, hey I’ve got company Kelly way….Flour your counter, dump your bowl onto the flour…Press the mixture down with your hands adding a little flour, forming a square (circle, rectangle…we aren’t that OCD)… and it’s about 1 1/2 inches thick… now flour the top of the mixture and start cutting out biscuits…they are gonna be sticky, but they will be circles. Put them on your sprayed and floured pan. Push the pieces of left-over dough together and repeat until you are out of dough. Brush the tops with melted butter. Stick them in the preheated oven (it has to be preheated) and bake them for 5 minutes…Turn your oven down to 450 and bake for 15 more minutes. It makes around a dozen biscuits (usually more like 10), I usually double the recipe, they are great reheated later in the week.

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Victoria’s Favorite Biscuits

  1. Debi says:

    You can share the recipe a hundred times but you will always be the “magic biscuit baker” with the magic fingers. It will always taste better when you make them!!

Leave a Reply

