Unanswered Prayers

I prayed…

All the way from Oklahoma to Valdez, I prayed in every quiet moment. I had been praying, and praying, then praying some more for the last month. Pleading with God to remove ‘the whore’ from our lives, to let my family be done with the drama. God wasn’t answering my prayers.

There was a week where ‘the whore’ seemed like she would drop the order, my husband’s lawyer had offered her a deal…my husband would sign a document saying he would have no contact with her except for work purposes, and if he did the year-long restraining order would automatically go into place. When the lawyer proposed the idea to my husband he agreed quickly, by this time he had not had any contact for 10 weeks.

“Not a problem,” he reassured her.

The day before the first trial ‘the whore’ decided not to sign, she didn’t trust my husband to keep his word and not contact her. I really don’t blame her, as any man who has seen her can confirm she would be a hard woman to resist. With her tree trunk thighs, puckered lips,a fat ass, and whiny, nasally voice men line up everyday to be with her (ask her mom she will proudly start listing off ALL the men),and my husband was sure to fall back into her spell.

I think what she didn’t realize was when word got out in her hometown? My husband didn’t only deny having the affair because he didn’t want me to find out, but because he was embarrassed for people to know he was with her. She was the ‘town bicycle’ of her hometown…everyone wanted to ride her but nobody wanted to take her home. Looking back without the ‘crazy’ of the affair tinting his eyes, he was disgusted with himself for being with her. Not just because of her appearance but because she is nasty inside and out.

So out of fear she wouldn’t sign the agreement, and I was gripping my husband’s hand as we landed in the north. I remember saying one last prayer as we came to a stop.

“Please God help me be strong this week, keep me on my feet, and guide me in my actions.”

I took one last deep breath, picked up my purse, and stepped off the plane.

“She wasn’t quite the angel that I remembered in my dreams
And I could tell that time had changed me
In her eyes too it seemed
We tried to talk about the old days
There wasn’t much we could recall
I guess the Lord knows what he’s doin’ after all

And as she walked away and I looked at my wife
And then and there I thanked the good Lord
For the gifts in my life

Sometimes I thank God for unanswered prayers
Remember when you’re talkin’ to the man upstairs
That just because he may not answer doesn’t mean he don’t care
Some of God’s greatest gifts are unanswered”

-Garth Brooks-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

