Independent Women

I am trying to paint Lou’s room.

I’ve gotten as far as cleaning it out, now I’m trying to decide on a paint color. I have purchased some flower and owl items to start the ball rolling and ‘inspire’ me. I’m really if we are being honest trying to find something without princesses.

I know I’ve come a long way when it comes to my hatred for princesses and Disney, but Lord it’s still a nasty trigger. I don’t know if it’s the tutus and the whores love of Disney, combined with her referring to my daughter as a ‘princess’, or what the Hell it is I just know I now hate princesses.

Lou loves princesses, go figure my makeup loving, hair styling, dress-up fool, of a daughter can’t help but love princesses. Here I sit 20 months later trying to decorate her room to show her personality and Pinterest keeps showing me princess rooms. I don’t want my daughter to have a princess room. I don’t want her to be in a pink and frilly room. I thought I could make it frilly and fun, but I was wrong.

I’m afraid I will walk into her room and want to vomit. I’m really scared crazy Kelly might pull down all the ruffles and pink curtains and burn them in the middle of her room. I see her spray painting “Screw the Whores” on her pretty pink walls. Angry Kelly might take a sledge-hammer to any princess pictures, or tiaras…and don’t let her spot a glass slipper.

I’m starting to wonder “What the Hell were you thinking? What do flowers and owls drift to? Princesses and fairies!! Which leads to?!?!? Whores…Whores You DumbAss!!! Angry Kelly is screaming in my head by this time, and she’s right every other picture I scroll to have a smiling Princess.

I’m thinking about painting the walls dark purple, splashing on some black, adding a skull or two and turning my daughter punk.

Update: We went to town and found a fun orange and pink comforter, and then Lou decided she wanted teal and purple for the walls. Loud, colorful, and random? Yes, but I think I can live with it. I even got her a glitter over coat to make her walls sparkle. Because every little girl should get to sparkle, and no whore should ever take that away.

We are going to add some animals and fence, give it a ‘farm’ feel, because I wouldn’t mind a cow girl.

Or a badass farm girl…

“All the women who are independent
Throw your hands up at me
All the honeys who makin’ money
Throw your hands up at me
All the mommas who profit dollas
Throw your hands up at me
All the ladies who truly feel me
Throw your hands up at me”

-Destiny’s Child-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Independent Women

  1. brokenjoan says:

    Yeah, A bad ass farm girl, just like her mama! I say the world needs a few more of those!😂😛😃

  2. horsesrcumin says:

    No. No. No. No princesses. That is all that is wrong with the world today. Fucking Disney Fucking Princesses! One of my pet peeves the whole gender bullshit! My girls knew I don’t do barbies. They never asked. The eldest was given one but was over it in a week. Mine were sandpit, climb a tree, do a mudrun through the swamp girls – and boy! Funny, the eldest is a movie makeup artist with a girly penchant for all things vintage. I love it! Go Lou, it’ll be gorgeous!

  3. I love how Crazy and Angry Kelly were avoided and Lou found her taste without identifying with a lame-O princess 🙂 Way to go Mom and Lou here’s to that awesome room. Let me know how the glitter overcoat comes out. sounds like something I would love to do for our girls room, or think about anyway. I have wonderful ideas implementing them is a huge problem for me ❤

  4. Nephila says:

    Oh dear. I understand the trigger I do. But see I had a farm girl tomboy mother and all I wanted was princess which she didn’t let me have. Go figure. Sounds like you found a good compromise. Also you could check out A Mighty Girl, they had some mighty girl princesses designed by little girls. Think forest princess with crossbow.

    • horsesrcumin says:

      So funny. We all want what we haven’t got. My mum was girly and (I thought, as a teen) kinda pathetic. She was never pathetic. She was mighty. In a lace dress! I was the only girl and liked proving I was “better?” than my little brothers. The government even used MY catch cry “girls can do anything,” in their push to get girls into nontraditional roles. My dad preferred me to them on the farm. I liked cows. I liked hard wirk. I liked rising at 5am in the weekends to milk with him.

      But hey, I wear dresses, heels and makeup all the time. My last bathroom was painted silver, yes glitter and all, with a fire engine red claw foot bath and a mirrored disco ball as a centrepiece. I am girly. But I get my hands in the earth every day as well. And I don’t do pink!

Leave a Reply

