I Won’t Give Up

Just a thought to ponder.

Bad shit happens, just does, and it can’t be undone, avoided or hide from…it happens.

It happened to me, maybe it has happened to you.

It leaves you weak, and sad, and angry and flipping mad. It changes you, and it makes you wonder “What did I do to deserve this?”

Crickets…that’s what you will hear usually if you ask that question.

Instead you should be asking, “How do I move on?”

I spent too much time worrying about how I was brought to my knees and not enough energy trying to get back up.

“Easier said than done, Kelly.”

No it wasn’t easy, it wasn’t fair, it wasn’t what I wanted to do…

I wanted to lay down, to give up, to have a pity party for one.

Maybe you do too?

I get it I do, but you are wasting time.

Time you can never, ever get back.

Time with your loved ones, time with your friends, time to make a difference.

At the end of the day it is your life.

Bad shit happened.

You get to decide how to live now.

I don’t want to let ‘bad shit’ define me.

I don’t want to let it decide how I live my life.

I want to live in the now and the present.

Don’t you?

“The more anger towards the past you carry in your heart,
the less capable you are of loving in the present.”

Barbara De Angels-

Anger and hate weigh you down.

Anger and hate change you.

Just a thought.

“‘Cause even the stars they burn
Some even fall to the earth
We’ve got a lot to learn
God knows we’re worth it
No, I won’t give up

I don’t wanna be someone who walks away so easily
I’m here to stay and make the difference that I can make
Our differences they do a lot to teach us how to use
The tools and gifts we got, yeah, we got a lot at stake
And in the end, you’re still my friend at least we did intend
For us to work we didn’t break, we didn’t burn
We had to learn how to bend without the world caving in
I had to learn what I’ve got, and what I’m not, and who I am

I won’t give up on us
Even if the skies get rough
I’m giving you all my love
I’m still looking up, still looking up.

Well, I won’t give up on us (no I’m not giving up)
God knows I’m tough enough (I am tough, I am loved)
We’ve got a lot to learn (we’re alive, we are loved)
God knows we’re worth it (and we’re worth it)”

-Jason Mraz-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to I Won’t Give Up

  1. Music to my ears, Kelly — so very true.

    I think I posted/commented months ago that fast forward 20+ years from now, will you regret the anger and stasis of grief? Yes, you will because life is too damn short!

    I’m moving on and there are more good days then there were bad. That may not always be the case but, I’m holding on to the good with both hands.

    xxoo

  2. brokenjoan says:

    Kelly, I want to let go, but it’s so stinkin hard to do, I’ve been knocked down so many times, but I still get back up & take another step! And Tempted, I am trying to hold on to the good & not let it slip away! Thanks for the words of encouragement! XO Joan

    • You can do it, Joan! You are one strong woman! 🙂 I can tell you are a most loving, forgiving woman. Your words of encouragement to others on here shows that! xxoo

      I just don’t want to waste precious time to love and be loved. If my husband proves true, we will continue our marriage in love. I realize it’s a two-way street, I guess I’m leaping with a fistful of faith. What else can I do? I choose to be happy. I choose to be happy. I choose to be happy — say it with me, people! ha!

  3. pabloswife says:

    I agree 100% Kelly!! That’s what I’ve been trying/am trying so hard to do. Bad shit does happen. It may come in the form of infidelity, it may come in the form of disease or, in a school friend of mine’s case, it came in the form of the death of her 4 year old!!! God I bet she wished her husband had “just” cheated on her instead!!!!

    All we can do is try to get back up when life knocks us down. I believe we only have one life, I’m absolutely certain I’m not gonna spend any more time than I have to, dealing/thinking about all this shit!!

  4. So true I am learning so much from all of you!

  5. Maria says:

    That was my song that kept me going (and I kept crying to) when I first found out (Sept2013). Now, I no longer cry to it… it gives me hope. I guess time (and love) does heal!!

    Cheers to wanting to be happy! No matter the shitty circumstances!

  6. brokenjoan says:

    Thank you Tempted, I CHOOSE TO BE HAPPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! XO Joan 😘

  7. brokenjoan says:

    To: nothatemyhusband, Don’t sell yourself short, we are learning from you also! After all you’re the one that talks forgiveness! I may mellow as the years go by, but this is one wrong I view as unforgivable, but hey that’s just me, you’re younger & sweeter!😀

  8. brokenjoan says:

    Kelly, and every betrayed person going through this, you have to listen to the song, “Better” by Maggie Rose, the words will truly hit home to all of us, so grab a tissue & crank that tune up, then let me know if it spoke to you guys like it did to me! XO JOAN

  9. DJ says:

    It’s good to read something positive – thank you. I needed that.

  10. Howtostart says:

    I learned what a trigger was from you.

  11. Howtostart says:

    I read the whole blog from start to finish last week. I don’t want to say it was nice to hear my thoughts put into words, or that it was nice that somebody understand, because I wouldn’t wish this on anyone.

  12. Jamie says:

    Thank you all for posting and sharing! Kelly I listen to that song all the time! I have felt so alone these past months. What an incredible relief to hear from you all. I hate that this has happened to us but I refuse to let this nightmare define me. No one deserves this. Nothing justifies this betrayal. Knowing that I am not alone gives me strength. I hope that we all are able to put this behind us. Each day is a struggle. I thank God every day for my beautiful children. They give me the strength to keep moving forward. Wishing you all fewer triggers and happier days.

  13. dirtyhiddentreasures says:

    Wow, this is truly amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

