Lou’s Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookie

Laney starts school tomorrow, and it is a bittersweet day for me. Sweet because I will get time away from her to breathe and be something other than a mom, bitter because the boys have taught me how fast time goes.

15 years ago my oldest son started school, he was the age before Pre-K, but he started a cookie tradition. I always send cookies the first day of school, and they are always chocolate chip. With my boys I used the oatmeal chocolate chip cookies I posted on here previously, but Lou is not my boys.

Around the time she came in the world, I started using this recipe. It will fill up my cookie jar but it doesn’t stay full for long. These are buttery cookies, and they are crisp and chewy. They are a whole different cookie than the ones my boys took to school. Kind of poetic because their little sister is a whole different kind of kid.

Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup butter

1 cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

1 cup chopped pecans (if you like nuts)

Directions:</

1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C). Mix flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.

2.In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg, then stir in the vanilla. Mix in the dry ingredients until well blended. Stir in the chocolate chips and pecans. Roll the dough into 2 inch balls and place them 3 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheets.

3.Bake for 15 to 20 minutes in the preheated oven. Allow cookies to cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

As I’m baking them today my cooling rack keeps losing cookies, to just a heads up if you want to send them or share them? Double the batch 🙂

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

