Raise Your Glass

I have been busy.

I know with Lou in school, I should have more time but somehow I think there are less hours in the day. I also think I’m winding down, coming to the end, and I’ve told my story. Are there still things to say? Well yeah, but I’m long-winded and a talker so I will always have things to say.

Is this my last blog post? Am I wrapping it up? Calling it a day? Have I uttered my last sentence with ‘whore’ in it? No…sorry ‘the whore’ if you were doing the happy dance, I still have a story or two left in me. The problem is, the stories I have left, as I come full circle? They are hard to tell, and they make me sad.

I like telling my stories of Lou, and the farm. I have made some peace with it and I like my life now, and at times I just want to move on. I know I have to finish, I’m afraid if I don’t I will keep coming back, keep living in the past. As I share my stories, it’s like I shred the hurt up and throw it in the wind as if confetti. It no longer sits festering inside me. Pulling it out though? It hurts like a bitch.

So I’m just warning you all, it’s always darkest before the dawn, it’s gonna hurt before it heals, and it might get a little sad on here.

August sucks, but September is a bitch. October is gonna make me want to punch a whore, and the thought of November is awful…no cute phrases,  it’s just awful. We are coming up on a bumpy road, I am self-aware enough to see it coming, yet too stubborn to pull over and look for a detour. I see healing and happiness at the end finally, so no matter what I will continue.

“Putting it off is for chicken shit, no lady balls hanging, weak ass, whiny, victim loving women!!!” Crazy Kelly yells stomping down the path.

“Charge!!” Angry Kelly bellows and runs after her.

Sad Kelly just takes a deep breath, wipes away a tear and joins them.

So take my hands one more time, my sweet friends and let’s finish the journey.

So raise your glass if you are wrong
In all the right ways
All my underdogs, we will never be, never be
 Anything but loud and nitty gritty, dirty little freaks

Won’t you come on and come on, and
Raise your glass
Just come on and come and
Raise your glass

Oh shit, my glass is empty”

-Pink-

Read more: Pink – Raise Your Glass Lyrics | MetroLyrics

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Raise Your Glass

  1. pabloswife says:

    I will so miss you and your words of wisdom, but I look forward to seeing what else that crazy daughter of yours is getting up to!

  2. Jamie says:

    I LOVE the lyrics! Once again you have inspired me to keep going and to stay positive. The next few months are going to be a bitch but we will survive. I am hoping to come out a little stronger. I will understand when you decide to step back and stop writing. I tell myself that I am just not going to think about any of the bullshit for three whole days! Sadly I have yet to make it to two days. I am hopeful and will keep trying. One day at a time for me. Thank you for being you and pulling me out of my darkness. I will forever be gratefulto you and your writing.

  3. ❤ this post, Kelly — and I will raise not only a glass, but the roof for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

