The Long Way Around

Went to see the Dixie Chicks last night…

It was a little surreal listening to them live, and screaming/singing ‘Goodbye Earl’ and ‘Not Ready To Make Nice’ with them.

Their cover of ‘Landslide’made me tear up.

Maybe it should be my bucket list, to travel around and listen to all 200 and some song titles on my blog live. From seedy bars to major venues, me sitting in the audience with a drink in my hand, singing loudly off key, to the music that spoke for my heart.

The Dixie Chicks spoke of “women with balls” at the beginning of the concert 🙂 I wanted to tap on my imaginary mic, get their attention and correct them…

” Excuse me, Natalie?” I cleared my throat awkwardly. “Those are lady balls, and are much different than man balls. They are much larger, and not as sensitive as men’s balls. They aren’t used for procreation like men’s instead they are used to do impossible daunting tasks. We also aren’t born with them, but instead grow them when faced with adversity and heartache.”

Instead of interrupting the show, I screamed my approval with the thousands of other women.

The DIxie Chicks might not know their connection to me and that’s okay.

The night was a visit down memory lane for me, and I came home and reread the blog posts.

Man was I angry 🙂 and honest…and ANGRY.

Looking back made me realize how far I’ve come from my first year out. It was a really long, and sad road I traveled, full of setbacks, crying, and heartbreak.

I’m coming up on FOUR years this fall…

Four years since my whole world came crashing down.

Four years of changes.

I could have taken the shorter path, and divorced.

Cut the ties and started over.

Instead I took the long way.

And sometimes all that got me through my darkest days was the ‘Dixie Chicks’ and you my sweet friends 🙂

If I haven’t said it before?

thank you

For walking down this dark road with me.

For being a voice in the darkness.

For showing up to my pity parties.

For never judging.

And always listening.

thank you

“It’s been two long years now
Since the top of the world came crashing down
And I’m getting’ it back on the road now

But I’m taking the long way
Taking the long way around
I’m taking the long way
Taking the long way around
The long
The long way around

Well, I fought with a stranger and I met myself
I opened my mouth and I heard myself
It can get pretty lonely when you show yourself
Guess I could have made it easier on myself

But I, I could never follow
No I, I could never follow

Well, I never seem to do it like anybody else
Maybe someday, someday I’m gonna settle down
If you ever want to find me I can still be found

Taking the long way
Taking the long way around
Taking the long way
Taking the long way around”

-Dixie Chicks-

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Long Way Around

  1. horsesrcumin says:

    Yep. That is all 👌

  2. It is the long way. As I approach the 4 year mark I want to say “thanks”. Thanks for being that voice in the dark when I could not sleep. Thanks for reminding me that I was not as alone as I felt. Thanks for making me giggle when I didn’t think there was anything left to giggle about. Thanks for reminding me that it is ok to yell and shout and pitch a big hissy fit. Thanks for letting me know it is ok to be scared and want to hide from the world and for reminding me that I have to go back out into that world I wanted to hide from. Thanks for letting me know that it is ok to collapse on the floor and cry until there was no possible way I had any fluid left in my body.

    Mostly thanks for being honest and helping me look into myself and be honest about my own situation.

    Take care.

  3. ❤️ thank you for everything ❤️

Leave a Reply

