Easy Creamy Chicken Enchilada Soup

It has finally gotten cold in Oklahoma…

A freezing 60 in the afternoons, go ahead and laugh. My family is glad I’m so cold natured, because I bake and cook to ‘warm’ up the house.

This weekend I wanted to try something different, my favorite fall soup is usually Chicken Tortilla. I switched it up with Chicken Enchilada soup…I know Crazy Kelly must be running the kitchen.

It was yummy and easy, I even remembered to write down all my tweaks and changes, my girls are reading this and cheering. I usually take things from ten recipes, then add my own flair, it comes out amazing, and can never be replicated.

Try this it took 35 minutes to make and I had all the ingredients on hand.

Easy Creamy Chicken Enchilada Soup

Prep time 5
Cook time
30 mins
Total time
35 minutes.

Serves 10

ingredients

1 tbsp olive oil

2 Chicken Breasts seasoned with garlic powder and pepper

1 c. onion, chopped

1/2 green and red bell peppers chopped.

1/2 tsp cumin

1 10 oz can red enchilada sauce

8 oz cream cheese cubed

1 14 oz can Rotel

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed.

1 can whole corn, drained

2 cups chicken broth or water with chicken soup base added.

2 cups montery jack cheese and cheddar cheese divided.

Toppings

10 Corn Tortillas cut into strips and fried in oil till crispy. Drain on paper towel and lightly salt.

1/2 cup cilantro chopped

1/2 cup green onion sliced.

Sour Cream

Instructions

Heat the olive oil in a Dutch oven  over medium heat. Add the seasoned chicken and cook for 5 min per side. Add  the onion,bell peppers, and cumin and cook for about 5 minutes until the onion is soft and translucent. Remove the chicken from the pot and set aside to cool. Once cool chop up into small bite sized pieces.
Add the enchilada sauce and cream cheese. Keep breaking up and stirring in cream cheese until combined.
Add the Rotel, black beans, corn and stir.
Add the chopped chicken breast and chicken broth. Stir and cook for about 10 to 15 minutes, stirring occasionally, just until the soup is really hot. Don’t boil too long or cream cheese could curdle. Add one cup of cheese mixture and stir till melted.

Remove from heat and garnish with toppings.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Easy Creamy Chicken Enchilada Soup

  1. steph208 says:

    Oh my goodness! It showed up in my timeline from 3 years ago today that you were going to add recipes to your blog! Coincidence?!?! This sounds yummy!!

    • Haha it’s also our seven year “friendship” anniversary on Facebook 🙂 You were the one who demanded recipes. I loved this one, you could even make it in a crockpot if you wanted to…just don’t add the cream cheese or regular cheese until the end. I’d throw it all in uncooked

      • steph208 says:

        I think it’s awesome for our 7 year friendship that’s really over 20 years but Facebook official 7 years ago you write a recipe for me! ❤️❤️#feelingspecial

Leave a Reply

