My Favorite Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

image          I was given this recipe when I was 15, and have loved it ever since. I made it so much you can’t read the recipe anymore, it is a stained piece of paper, and yet it still sits in my old recipe box. They were famous at my kids elementary school, I’d bake them for any or every occasion…sometimes just because it was Friday. If your child went to school with my kids they have eaten these cookies, if you taught my children you were given these cookies. I have been making a rich and buttery cookie…they are flat and crisp, buttery and yummy…but these were the first, and probably honestly the best cookie I ever made. A friend told today of her adventure baking cookies with a toddler, and it made me remember my own. It made me want to bake these cookies, and to pretend just for a minute that my three boys are gonna run in the door, kids again, laughing and stopping to grab a cookie before going to watch cartoons. These my sweet friend are what you need to bake for your daughter, and when you do? Give her a hug for me…

Ingredients

1 c. shortening
1 c. granulated sugar
1 c. brown sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
2 eggs
2 cups flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
2 c. quick cooking oats
2 c. chocolate chips
1 c. nuts (if you like that sort of thing)

Preheat oven to 350

Cream together the shortening and sugars till combined. Add the vanilla and eggs then mix till light and fluffy. Mix together all the dry ingredints. Add them to the wet, and stir till all mixed together. Add in the chocolate chips and nuts. Make them into golf ball size rounds and put them on the cookie sheet. Bake for 12-15 minutes (depends on your oven so check on them regularly till you get the timing figured out).

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Favorite Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Ryan says:

    I will come home for these 😉

Leave a Reply

